Thoughts on Faith

There is an old story about a Protestant minister who died and went to heaven. St. Peter met him at the Pearly Gates and as they walked down the streets of gold the minister noticed a group of people way off in the distance. “Who are those people?” he asked. St. Peter said, “Shhhh, those are Catholics. They think they’re the only ones here.” Later they saw another group off in the distance and the minister again asked, “Who are those people?” and St. Peter said, “Shhhh, those are Muslims. They think they’re the only ones here.”

Clearly we do not know what we do not know, but we should understand one thing – there are many different religions and many different kinds of adherents to thoses religions. If there was only one true faith you could safely assume there would only be need for one. If anything it heartens me to realize that there are many paths, and many ways, and many seekers. It tells me that God, regardless of how we understand Him/Her, reaches out to us individually not based on organized and qualified groupthink, but on what answers to our own individual and unique spiritual condition.

I grew up in a Christian family going to a Christain church, attending Sunday School, graduating from a Christian college, and reading the Bible as God’s Word. These were the tools that were given me to help me understand the world and be a better person. They have stood the test of time not by way of indoctrination, but through my own personal experience and relationship with the God of my understanding. And yet I refuse to condemn or criticize those who don’t believe as I do. I don’t consider them “lost”. I consider them fellow travelers who are seeking spirituality the same way I am – the best way they know how.

I know there will be those who will disagree with my comments, and that is a good thing. I rely on the different thoughts and beliefs of my family and friends. They force me to consider and reconsider the things I think and believe, which in turn makes me a more thoughtful and understanding person. Over time I have come to see that kindness and respect is more than just “The Golden Rule”. It is the holiest way to live and the way I continue to shape my life everyday.

Someday, my friend, when we cross over it will all be made clear. We will know the truth and it will truly and totally set us free. In the meantime I say with the most heart felt love and respect: Namaste, Shalom, As-salamu Alaykum, and God bless.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.