Trees

“Let’s take our hearts for a walk in the woods and listen to the magic whispers of old trees.” ~Unknown

All of us have places. Places to be, places that take us back to ourselves, places that are home and comfort. This is my place. Walking among “the standing people”.

Occasionally I come upon a huge trunked beauty. I pause and tap it three times with my hiking stick not because I think magic is released or because I wish for luck, but to create a moment of connection. A tangible moment when I’m actually in my shoes. And isn’t that what we all want?

Some trees are bent under the weight of harsh weather, some stand waiting in the shadows, and some break through the canopy and into the sunlight spreading their crowns to the sky.

Me? I walk under their branches for shade in the Summer and protection from the storms that most certainly will come. I peer through their bare limbs in the Winter and watch for early buds as a promise of Spring. They provide me a sense of place and time as recognizable markers in an otherwise hurried life. All this, and a peaceful walk in the woods.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.